Skip to main content

Scholarships 2020

Etex Telephone Cooperative, Inc. Scholarship – Deadline 4/22/2022

Texas Builders Foundation Scholarship – Deadline 4/29/2022

Gilmer Lions Club Scholarship – $500 – Deadline 5/1/2022

LIFE Association Scholarship Fund – $5,000 – Deadline 5/1/2022

Upshur County Hospital Auxiliary 2022 Scholarship – Deadline 5/2/2022

Safe Haven Equine Rescue – Deadline 5/2/2022

Combat Warriors Scholarship – $1,000 – Deadline 5/6/2022

Republican Women of Upshur County – $500 – Deadline 5/6/2022

Scholarship season is fast approaching and East Texas Communities Foundation will offer 76 diverse scholarships to be awarded for the 2021-2022 academic year. We will accept submissions beginning December 1, 2020. Please share this good news with your students.


Our new video, Elements of Exceptional Scholarship Applications, offers tips and advice to your students. Please share this link with them and anyone who assists students through the scholarship process.


The simple Matching Tools on our website make the application process easy. By answering a short list of questions, the student will be matched with those scholarships for which they are most likely to meet the eligibility criteria. Then, they choose the scholarships they want to submit and proceed to those applications. This video demonstrates the process

Both videos, the matching questionnaire, a detailed list of all 2021-22 ETCF scholarships, and other helpful resources are located on our website at


This year, we are offering a number of new scholarships, including:

·        Capt. Wm. Barron Chapter Texas Society of the Sons of the American Revolution Scholarship (Anderson, Cherokee, Rains, Rusk, Smith, Upshur, Van Zandt, and Wood County schools)

·        Joey Johnson Scholarship (Gladewater, Overton, Sabine, or West Rusk High Schools)

·        Nickolas-Truszkowska Scholarship (students in recovery)


The application deadline is either February 1 or March 1, 2021. Deadlines are clearly stated on the applications and our website. (The sole exception is the Lewis/Miles JBBA Scholarship, due June 10.)


Contact either Dana Durman ( or Mary Lynn Smith ( or by calling  903.533.0208 or toll free at 1.866.533.3823 if you have any questions. Best of luck to your students. We are happy to be working with you!