Skip to main content
DistrictCampus
CAMPUS

UIL Academics

GHS Students,

Thank you for your interest in UIL Academics.  Use this page to learn about the events that we will compete in this Spring. 

Practices begin in November, then we attend our 3 invitational tournaments in January and February.  The road to State begins with our District Meet in March.  See the UIL Academics Meet Calendar below for details. 

Below is a list of events, coaches, and how to contact each coach.  Please find me or email me if you have questions.

Ben Patrick 

UIL Academic Coordinator 

Room 1228

patrickb@gilmerisd.org

 

Important Links:

UIL Academics Meet Calendar

UIL Academics Overview

Photos (coming soon)

Meet Results (coming this Spring)

Invitational Tournament Schedule:

Sat.  January 14th    –   Lindale High School

Sat.  January 28th    –   Whitehouse High School

Fri.  February 17th    –   Sulphur Springs High School

  Ready Writing & Computer Sciene

Sat.  February 18th    –   Sulphur Springs School

  All Remaining Events

District Meet:

Wed.  March 22nd    –   SFA, Nacogdoches

  Academic, STEM, Journalism Events

Thu.  March 23rd     –   SFA, Nacogdoches

  Speech Events

Regional Meet:

April 21st – 22nd      –   SFA, Nacogdoches

  Specific Event Info TBD

State Meet:

May 17th – 18th      –   UT Austin

  Specific Event Info TBD

Academics

Accounting

Contest Information

Donna Sue Youngblood

Room 2045

donnasue.youngblood@gilmerisd.org

 

Current Issues & Events

Contest Information

Social Studies

Contest Information

Kemplin Dickison

Collaboration Room

kemplin.dickison@gilmerisd.org

 

Literary Criticism

Contest Information

Emily Dodd

Room 1116

dodde@gilmerisd.org

 

Ready Writing

Contest Information

Trish Kaunitz

Room 1120

kaunitzt@gilmerisd.org

 

Spelling & Vocabulary

Contest Information

Elizabeth Russell

Room 1119

elizabeth.russell@gilmerisd.org

 

STEM

Calculator Applications

Contest Information

Mathematics

Contest Information

Number Sense

Contest Information

James McCauley

Room 2011

mccauleyj@gilmerisd.org

 

Computer Science

Contest Information

Chandra Woods

Library

woodsc@gilmerisd.org

 

Science

Contest Information

Tea Fair

Room 2044

tea.fair@gilmerisd.org

 

Journalism

Journalism

Contest Information

Christine Pearson

Room 1118

christine.pearson@gilmerisd.org

 

Speech

Oral Interpretation

(Prose & Poetry)

Contest Information

Hannah Barnes

Rooms 1228, 1506

hannah.barnes@gilmerisd.org

 

Theatre

One Act Play

Contest Information

Ben Patrick, Hannah Barnes

Room 1228

patrickb@gilmerisd.org

 

Future Events:  

Informative Speaking, Persuasive Speaking,

Congress, Lincoln-Dougless Debate,

Cross-Examination Debate, Film,

Theatrcial Design